You Are Here: Home | Castles By County & Province in Ireland

Castles By Province in Ireland

we have broken up our list of castles into the different 4 provinces of Ireland they are located in as some castles pre-date the creation of the counties in Ireland. Please check back soon as we shall be adding more castles to this list.

Castles in Ulster
Some of the castles we have covered are: Carrickfergus , Dunluce

Castles in Leinster
Some of the castles we have covered are: Ardgillan, Birr, Dublin , Durrow , Kilkea , Kilkenny, Kinnitty, Shankill

Castles in Munster
Some of the castles we have covered are: Ballycarbery , Ballyporty , Barryscourt , Blarney, Bunratty, Carriganass, Desmond , Dromoland, Dunasead, Dunboy, Leamaneh, Knappogue, O’Dea, Leamaneh Castle, Waterford

Castles in Connacht
Some of the castles we cover are: Abbeyglen, Ashford Castle, Ballymore, Doonagore.




Recommended books on Castles, available from Amazon.

Medieval Castles of Ireland
Great Irish Houses & Castles
If Walls Could Talk: Great Irish Castles Tell Their Stories
Castles in Ireland: Feudal Power in a Gaelic World